Where can you eat prime rib, order a milkshake, learn to make chocolate truffles, build your own sundae, decorate a gingerbread house, have an omelet made-to-order, survive the Chili Challenge, and win fantastic prizes? Look no further than your closest Virginia Tech dining center.

In addition to the best food in Blacksburg, there is always something fun and exciting happening. Our staff members provide first-rate special events throughout the semester. Watch for information posted in the residence halls or view the special events calendar.

Sunday, August 19

  • Hokie Hi Spirit Picnic
    • Lane Stadium
    • 4:30–6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, September 5

  • Pop Up Food Trucks
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • East Side Deli
    • 11:00 a.m.–2:00 p.m.
    • Door Price

Friday, September 7

  • Chef Series I: Grilling
    • West End Market
    • 5:00-8:00pm

Friday, September 21

  • International Cafe Hour:             Saudi Arabia 
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Wednesday, September 26

  • Hokiedining Food Fair
    • Eggleston Quad outside of Owens Hall
    • 5:00-8:00pm
    • $18.95 Cash, $6.55 Flex

Date TBD - rescheduling

  • Chef Premier Local Event
  • D2 at Dietrick Hall
  •     4:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
  •     Price TBD

Monday-Friday, October 1-5

  • Chili Challenge
  • D2 at Dietrick Hall
  •     11:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.                         Daily *must participate all 5 days     to receive t-shirt
  •     Door Price

Friday, October 12

  • International Cafe Hour: Africa 
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Saturday, October 13

  • An Evening at Homefield Farm
    • 4:30–8:30 p.m.
    • Fall Family Weekend
    • Tickets available here

Tuesday, October 23

  • Chef Series II - Korean Bowls
    • Carvery
    • Owens Food Court
    • 5:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.
    • $3.47 flex, $6.55 cash

Monday-Friday, Oct. 29-Nov. 2

  • Hokie Spirit Week
    • Limited Time Offers
    • D2, West End Market, Owens Food Court, & Turner Place
    • All Day

Monday, November 5

  • Homefield Farm Produce Stand
    • in front of Turner Place
    • 4:00 p.m.-6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 6

  • Build-Your-Own Nachos Night
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
    • Door Price

Friday, November 9

  • International Cafe Hour:             Albania 
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Wednesday, November 14

  • Thanksgiving Feast
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
    • Owens Food Court
    • 5:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
    • $5.65 flex, $16.95 cash

Wednesday, November 28

  • Chef Series III - Gingerbread Houses
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
    • Free with dinner purchase
    • *Must sign-up in advance at D2

Tuesday, December 4

  • Holiday Meal
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
    • $5.65 flex, $16.95 cash

Thursday, December 6

  • Late Night Breakfast
    • Owens Food Court
    • 10:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m.
    • $4.30 flex, $8.60 cash

Monday, December 10

  • Brain Freeze "Ice Cream Social"
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 9:00 pm to 11:00 pm
    • Free to dining plan holders

Friday, January 25

  • International Cafe Hour: Nepal
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00–5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Sunday, February 3

  • Super Bowl Brunch
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 9:30 am – 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 5

  • Chef Series IV: Turner Place
    • Turner Place at Lavery Hall
    • Time TBD
    • Price TBD

Tuesday, February 12

  • Chef Series V -  Truffles
    • Location TBD
    • 5:30–7:00 p.m.
    • Price TBD
  • Register HERE

Wednesday, February 13

  • Wonky Day
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30–7:00 p.m.
    • Price TBD

Thursday, February 21

  • Brunch For Dinner
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00–7:00 p.m.
    • Door Price

Friday, February 22

  • International Cafe Hour: TBD
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00–5:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 26

  • Chef Series VI -  Bowls
    • Owens Food Court
    • 5:30–7:00 p.m.
    • Price TBD

Wednesday, March 6

  • Chef Series VII - Pop Up 
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Wednesday, March 20

  • Steak, Cake, and Tots 
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
    • Price TBD

Friday, March 22

  • International Cafe Hour: India 
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00–5:30 p.m.
    • Free for all dining plan holders

Tuesday, April 2

  • Peanut Butter and Jelly Day
    • Turner Place
    • West End Market
    • Farms & Fields at Owens Food Court
    • All day event

Wednesday, April 10

  • Customer Appreciation Day
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30-7:00 p.m.
    • Price TBD

Monday-Friday, April 15-19

  • Virginia Tech Dining Earth Week
    • All Dining Centers
    • All Day Event

Wednesday, April 24

  • Chicken Parm Day
    • Owens Food Court at Owens Hall
    • 10:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 9

  • Late Night Breakfast
    • Owens Food Court
    • 10:30 p.m. - 12:30 a.m.

Saturday, May 11

  • Power Exam Breakfast
    • Owens Food Court
    • 6:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Monday, May 13

  • Brain Freeze II
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 9:00-11:00 p.m.
    • Price: FREE to all dining plan holders, $5.95 cash

Friday, May 17

  • Commencement Breakfast
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 6:30 - 8:30 am
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $8.25 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE
  • Commencement Brunch
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 10:00 am - 1:30 pm
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $15.95 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE
  • Commencement Dinner
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $24.95 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE

Saturday, May 18

  • Commencement Breakfast
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 6:30 - 11:00 am
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $13.75 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE

Dining Services

151 New Hall West
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-3933


Hours

Online Menu

Add $ to your Hokie Passport

Feedback