Special Events

Where can you eat prime rib, order a milkshake, learn to make chocolate truffles, build your own sundae, decorate a gingerbread house, have an omelet made-to-order, survive the Chili Challenge, and win fantastic prizes? Look no further than your closest Virginia Tech dining center.

In addition to the best food in Blacksburg, there is always something fun and exciting happening. Our staff members provide first-rate special events throughout the semester. Watch for information posted in the residence halls or view the special events calendar.

Sunday, August 25

  • Hokie Hi Spirit Picnic
    • Lane Stadium
    • 4:30–6:00 p.m.

Wednesday, September 4

  • Pop Up Food Trucks
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 11:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
    • Door Price

Wednesday, September 18

  • Chef Series I
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00-7:30 p.m.

Thursday, September 19

  • Ice Cream Social 
    • Owens Courtyard 
    • 6:00-8:00 p.m.

Friday, September 20

  • International Cafe Hour:
    • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
      • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
      • 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
      • Free to all dining plan holders

Tuesday, September 24

  • Sustainable Biking Tour
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Location TBD
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Friday, September 27

  • Chocolate Milk Day
    • West End Market
    •     Time TBD

Wednesday, October 2

  • Hokie Dining Food Fair 
    • Owens Food Court
    • 5:00 p.m.-8:00p.m.

Monday, October 7 - Friday, October 11

  • Chili Challenge
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    •     11:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.                         Daily *must participate all 5 days     to receive t-shirt
    •     Door Price

Friday, October 18

  • International Cafe Hour:
    • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Tuesday, October 22

  • Chef Series II - Turner Place at D2
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
    • $4.83 flex, $14.50 cash

Wednesday, October 30

  • Customer Appreciation Event
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
    • $5.98 flex, $17.95 cash

Tuesday, November 5

  • Build-Your-Own Nachos Night
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
    • $4.83 flex, $14.50 cash

Friday, November 15

  • International Cafe Hour:
    • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Wednesday, November 14

  • Thanksgiving Feast
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
    • Owens Food Court
    • 5:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.
    • $5.98 flex, $17.95 cash

Wednesday, December 4

  • Chef Series III - Gingerbread Houses
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
    • Free with dinner purchase
    • *Must sign-up in advance at D2

Tuesday, December 10

  • Holiday Meal
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
    • Price TBD

Thursday, December 12

  • Late Night Breakfast
    • Owens Food Court
    • 10:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Monday, December 16

  • Brain Freeze "Ice Cream Social"
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 9:00 pm to 11:00 pm
    • Free to dining plan holders

Friday, January 24

  • International Cafe Hour: 
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00–5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Sunday, February 2

  • Super Bowl Brunch
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time TBD
    • Door Prices

Wednesday, February 5

  • Chef Series IV: Turner Place at D2
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 5:00 pm & 7:30 pm
    • $4.83 flex, $14.50 cash

Thursday, February 13

  • Chef Series V -  Chocolates
    • Wallace Hall kitchen
    • Time TBD
    • Sign up at the kiosk in
      West End Market
    • Price TBD

Friday, February 14

  • International Cafe Hour: 
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00–5:30 p.m.
    • Free to all dining plan holders

Wednesday, February 19

  • Chicken Parm Day
    • Lotsa Pasta at Owens Food Court
    • 10:30 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
    • Help us break the record!

Tuesday, February 25

  • Mardi Gras at West End
    • West End Market
    • Time TBD
    • Price TBD

Tuesday, March 17

  • St. Patrick's Day at West End
    • West End Market
    • Time TBD
    • Price TBD

Friday, March 20

  • International Cafe Hour:
  • In partnership with Cranwell International Center
    • Deet's Place at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:00–5:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 24

  • Customer Appreciation Dinner
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • 4:30–7:30 p.m.
    • $5.98 flex, $17.95 cash

Wednesday, March 25

  • Whole Grain Sampling Day
    • All Dining Centers
    • All Day Event

Wednesday, April 1

  • PB&J Day
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • West End Market
    • Turner Place
    • All Day Event

Monday-Friday, April 20-24

  • Virginia Tech Dining Earth Week
    • All Dining Centers
    • All Day Event

Thursday, May 7

  • Build Your Own Donuts
    • Owens Food Court
    • Time TBD

Saturday, May 9

  • Power Exam Breakfast
    • Owens Food Court
    • Time TBD

Saturday, May 9

  • Food Truck Breakfast
    • Food Trucks
    • Time TBD

Monday, May 11

  • Brain Freeze II
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time TBD
    • Free to all dining plan holders, $6.50 cash

Friday, May 15

  • Commencement Breakfast
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 6:00 - 8:30 am
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $8.95 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE
  • Commencement Brunch
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 9:30 am - 1:30 pm
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $16.95 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE
  • Commencement Dinner
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $24.95 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE

Saturday, May 16

  • Commencement Breakfast
    • D2 at Dietrick Hall
    • Time: 7:00 - 11:00 am
    • Price: FREE for graduating students with a dining plan, $16.95 Cash, half price for ages 6-12, and ages 5 and under FREE